JAVATM PUZZLERS TRAPS PITFALLS AND CORNER CASES PDF

Java Puzzlers. Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases. By Joshua Bloch and Neal Gafter. “Java puzzlers is a must-read for every Java developer, from the neophyte to. Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases Have you ever spent days chasing a bug caused by a trap or pitfall in Java or its libraries? Do you like. “Every programming language has its quirks. This lively book reveals oddities of the Java programming language through entertaining and thought-provoking.

Author: Kigak Vudogor
Country: Namibia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Art
Published (Last): 5 February 2005
Pages: 217
PDF File Size: 5.85 Mb
ePub File Size: 1.70 Mb
ISBN: 804-5-90021-834-7
Downloads: 16701
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Tum

She read the first puzzle. Withoutabox Submit to Film Festivals. Thanks for telling us about the problem.

Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases

javxtm I had no idea about all the things that I didn’t know: This lively book reveals oddities of the Java programming language through entertaining and thought-provoking programming puzzles. Anyone with a working knowledge of Java will understand the puzzles, but even the most seasoned veteran will find them challenging.

My library Help Advanced Book Search. Abdalla rated it really liked it Mar 20, Anyone with a working knowledge of Java will understand the puzzles, but even the most seasoned veteran will find an challenging.

Account Options Sign in.

The explanations also often include commentary to language designers ex: All in all — amazing book, one of the true gems. Amazon Rapids Fun stories for kids on the go. Full review also on my blog: References to this book Code Quality: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases Paperback. I read Bloch’s “Effective Java” book. Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases. It’s a definite must read Common terms and phrases args arithmetic array avoid behavior bits boolean byte values character checked exceptions class initialization compiler compound assignment operators computation confusing constant constructor declaration equal error escape sequences evaluates execution expression final String finally block fix the program float floating-point value following program hash hashCode HashSet idiom illusion infinite loop inner class instance Integer Integer.

  COMPANY PROFILE SOSRO PDF

Java Puzzlers

This books has a lot of good pitfal,s designed to make you think about how Java works. Mar 15, Mills College Library added it.

A handy catalog of traps and pitfalls at the back of the book provides a concise taxonomy for future reference. And QA never caught it. Puzzles are grouped loosely according to the features they use, and detailed solutions follow each puzzle. Can you figure out what it does? Java Puzzlers is not so much a book, but a collection of obscure corner cases in the Java programming language. The programming languages guy in me found this fascinating ex: The solutions go well beyond a simple explanation of the program’s behavior–they show you how to avoid the underlying traps and pitfalls for good.

Oct 15, Rahul Mahindru rated it liked it.

In the tradition of Effective Java TMBloch and Gafter dive deep into the subtleties of the Java programming language and its core libraries. This book is more like a brain teaser than real computer book. But it is a fun read that will show you that there are many things you don’t know about Java. An expose of Java’s known and not so known dirty secrets. Between us, we had half a dozen possible answers about what a three-line program was going to do. Most problems won’t appear in practice if you are following best practices and keep code clean and concise.

  BENSON REPRESENTATIONS AND COHOMOLOGY PDF

Thinking in Java 4th Edition. This is really another excellent book I’ve seen on Java. Are you a code sleuth? Solve these puzzles and you’ll never again fall prey to the counterintuitive or obscure behaviors that can fool even the most experienced programmers.

Time for a Change. Great book for checking your Java skills for certification, good cornet to make sure you really understand the concepts as well as the minutae of Java. Unless you’ve written the bit fiddling parts of a JVM implementation, or are the kind of person who can remember minute details of the specification, you’ll most likely suffer.

Lists with This Book. Programming Pearls 2nd Edition.

Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases by Joshua Bloch

A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship. Can you figure out what it does?

Big mistake — we had planned to spend the night watching Firefly on DVD. You wont find here good job interview questionsand you wont learn practical things about Java. To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up. B Notes on the Illusions.